Dear single parents…

single

This is a simple post to all single parents!

I don’t know the circumstances surrounding your situation and that information is irrelevant to me for what I am about to say;

You are an incredible, inspiring, and warrior like individual plain and simple! I have several close friends who are raising children single handedly, I see numerous mums and dads in my counselling who are trudging through the trenches and I often sit back in admiration at their capacity.

What I would love to say to you is that I know there are days you don’t actually know how you are going to get out of bed, pay that bill, work a double shift, make that sports day, or be the emotional rock that you need to be for your children.

BUT, the truth is if you are doing one of those things you need to stand in the mirror and high five yourself. Don’t ever underestimate your capacity is in fact larger than most living with an extra set of hands. I know that you don’t believe that, but as we watch from the sidelines, we are your greatest cheer squad and we see things you don’t.

Amongst all of that it is so important for you to recognize that you matter in the equation, your health, your feelings, your dreams, and your passion. I know it’s hard to believe that, because there seems to be no space left but, all I am asking is for you find 5 minutes every day to focus on one of those things. Journals, vision boards, a note on the bedroom door that says “back in 5” and just breathing, sitting with a hot cup of coffee and enjoying the sunshine with no interruption.

Where you have external support, lock them in for help. Don’t feel like a burden, I would be so thrilled and would drop everything to help my favourite’s wherever I could – chances are yours would too.

Where there is no support system, create one, online, local community groups, counselling – none of these things will be comfortable but could be the beginning of a new you!

So from me to you…I honour, respect and am in awe of you TRULY. And one day, I hope your children will sit back and recognize the effort, struggles, sacrifices and compromises you made for them and say thank you but until then WE ALL DO!

You got this…I know you do!

X Lisa

http://www.eshecounselling.com.au
http://www.mindheartbody.com.ausingle

Leave a comment